13 Sep
  • By Baylor
  • Cause in

Wilfred Kakuba Benefits From Baylor’s Empowerment Scheme

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

CHAIR PERSONAgaliAwamu Saving Group
My name is Kakuba Wilfred, I stay with my wife and two children in Ndejje, an area off Entebbe road. My wife and son are HIV positive.
I am an engineer by profession and for some time I built houses for a living. However, getting contracts was always hard, because of thedeep seated corruption in the country. I sometimes walked 15km from Ndejje to Baylor clinic to get medicine for son and bedridden wife. Through Baylor’s empowerment scheme, I received knowledge and skills on entrepreneurship and In 2015 I decided to start my own business. I thought the charcoal business would be profitable since every household uses charcoal on a daily basis. And so with the 200,000Ugx I had from personal savings, I bought four bags of charcoal. I bought each bag at 50,000Ugx and sold the charcoal in small quantities to the community. From each bag, I got a profit of 20,000Ugx Later, I got a loan of 500,000Ugx from Opportunity Bank and purchased over 10 bags of charcoal at 50,000Ugx and sold each bag at 60,000Ugx

I managed to pay off this loan and applied for another. In 2016 I got an 800,000Ugx loan, this made it possible for me to purchase over 50 bags of charcoal which gave a tremendous boost to my business. That month, I got 500,000Ugx in profits. With more money at my disposal, I used 300,000Ugx to buy mushrooms that were nearing maturity.  The mushrooms were ready for sale after just one week and I got a profit of 300,000Ugx from the sales. This is not only a source of additional income but food for my family and me.
I no longer need to get another loan. With this program, if a person is serious, the first loans are enough.
I now have transport, I can take care of home expenditures and also take care of my children,Isaac Newton Kitimbo (11yrs) and Kwagala Sharon Kakuba (16yrs)

.Additionally, I take care of 4 other children from my extended family in the village. So right now, I am able to take care of a total 6 children and my wife. I am happy! I want to work with Baylor to see that more people from the savings group are trained in this very lucrative business of mushroom growing.




Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.